WHAT IS SALESFORCE LIGHTNING
Lightning, also known as the “Lightning Experience” is a user friendly, streamlined interface of Salesforce allowing for less clicks and better navigation across Salesforce. Salesforce will be systematically rolling out Lightning in early January of 2020 to all users.
WHY YOU SHOULD WANT TO CHANGE
Reason #1: Automation
While there are a multitude of ways you can automate your sales process, Lightning introduces the new Sales Path, which allows you to create a visual Opportunity pipeline based on the Stage of the Opportunity that streamlines the sales process. This leads towards more accurate data and standardizing the way your company interacts with clients, shorting training time for new Sales Representatives.
Reason #2: Mobile Support
The Salesforce mobile app (available on iOS and Android, including tablets) allows you to access your company’s data from pretty much anywhere at any time you need it. Lightning also allows you to create custom mobile apps to mimic the functionality of customer communities or client portals, called the Lightning App Builder. This is a point-and-click tool that requires no knowledge of coding or app development.
Reason #3: Future Enhancements
It is important to understand that Salesforce Classic will still be available, but new features to this interface will no longer be coming down the pipeline. Come January 2020, Salesforce will continue to provide new features exclusively to Lightning. So, if you want to stay on top of ways you can continue to grow your business with Salesforce, and not be left in the past, Lightning is the way to go.
HOW TO STAY ON LIGHTNING
Although Salesforce will be pushing lighting out to all users, you are still able to use Classic for the foreseeable future. All Salesforce users that have the “Lightning Experience User” permission checked in their Profile will be moved to Lightning starting January 2020. Any profile that is a clone of a Standard Salesforce Profile will have “Lightning Experience User” checked by default. If you want to stop your users from getting moved to Lightning, simply go into their Profiles and make sure this setting is unchecked. Classic will still be available for an unknown period of time after this change takes effect, and if you are moved to Lightning you are still able to switch back and forth between Classic and Lightning with the press of a single button. This change happens nearly instantly, and can be done as many times as is needed.